Where the cut of meat comes from is important

ssorllih
Veteran
Veteran

Where the cut of meat comes from is important

Post by ssorllih » Sun May 15, 2011 03:21

Today I made some sausage with rather disappointing results. It isn't bad it just isn't good.
The pork that I used was very lean loin. It wasn't good for pan fried chops and it wasn't good for a roast. As a last resort I thought to try making sausage. If this was my first experience with meat I might be inclined to throw in the towel.

Sixteen years ago my eldest granddaughter was christened and I hosted the reception. I made beef barbecue using a brisket baked in a covered roasting pan at low heat for a rather long time. It was very good.

In the fall of that year a couple of friends brought a large pot of barbecue beef to our apple festival at church. They were careful to be concerned about FAT so they choose top round beef because it was very lean. It was also very dry and tough. I am a pretty good cook but I could not redeem that pot of barbecue and all of the effort that went into it.

They say of wine for cooking that if it isn't good enough for drinking DON'T put it in your food.

The Butcher that trained me to cut meat when I was in high school believed that the best meat came from forward of the ribs. He was not impressed with beef from farther back than the rib roast.

My neighbor in Oregon said that when he was a young man herding sheep he asked his butcher for a fifty cent soup bone. He said that at that time they cut the round from the leg for soup. He said that the butcher told him a twenty-five cent soup bone would be plenty for him and Loretta. This was a full cut of the round two inches thick that included the top, bottom and eye round and the thigh bone. That was the mid 1930's. A fifty cent soup bone would have been four inches thick.
I use round for soup but I use chuck for pot roast and stews.