Best meat to add to venison for burger?

Blackriver
Passionate
Passionate

Best meat to add to venison for burger?

Post by Blackriver » Mon Feb 20, 2012 00:07

I am going to grind some venison scraps for burger. I have never done this before. What is the best meat to use for the added fat needed for good burger? I like to make hamburgers on the grill and I like a good juicy burger. How many grinds and what size plates should I use? Thanks
Big Guy
Passionate
Passionate

Post by Big Guy » Mon Feb 20, 2012 01:47

Beef fat is the way to go IMHO in fact buy some cheap burger 70/30 and mix it 50/50 with your ground venison, It will make the best burgers you have ever had.
vagreys
Frequent User
Frequent User

Post by vagreys » Mon Feb 20, 2012 05:48

I use about 30% fatty pork with ground venison.
- tom

Don't tell me the odds.
Dave Zac
Passionate
Passionate

Post by Dave Zac » Mon Feb 20, 2012 17:52

I use pork butt. Mix 50-50 with venison. Or, use good pork fat and mix at about 20-80.
canadianwildman
Beginner
Beginner

Post by canadianwildman » Fri Jan 04, 2013 18:27

I'd have to agree with Dave, 20% pork fat by weight will make the lean venison succulent and juicy
Pete
User
User

Re: Best meat to add to venison for burger?

Post by Pete » Sat Jan 05, 2013 08:51

Blackriver wrote:I am going to grind some venison scraps for burger. I have never done this before. What is the best meat to use for the added fat needed for good burger? I like to make hamburgers on the grill and I like a good juicy burger. How many grinds and what size plates should I use? Thanks
G'day Blackriver,

Our sambar deer are generally very, very lean and I grind it twice through a 10mm plate for mince meat. Never add any other fat to the mix unless making a sausage of some sort.
When making a rissole ( Your hamburger I think) we add boiled rice, egg, onion, bit of bacon, capsicum, bit of curry powder, worcestershire sauce, salt/pepper.