cold smoker design with proQ cold smoke generator and old fr

sambal badjak
Frequent User
Frequent User

cold smoker design with proQ cold smoke generator and old fr

Post by sambal badjak » Fri Jul 19, 2013 14:04

Hi All,
I am pretty new at all this. I have done some warm smoking with a stove top smoker, but never any cold smoking.
I have just ordered a proQ cold smoke generator and it should be here early August.
I a, thinking in placing the proQ inside a fridge. I have an old one with a glass door (so I can see what happens) and it has no more gas or anything inside the cooling system, so it should be fairly safe.
Would this work?
And would I need to make air vents in/near the bottom of the fridge to regulate the air intake? Do I need air outlets as well?
I have been reading a lot of interesting designs, but not all of them suitable for me.
Another consideration is that I live in a very hot climate and I need to cool the whole thing down (except during winter nights), and I saw someone using frozen water bottles in their set-up, which seems like a great idea to me

Any hints/tips/other things I should look out for?

And another question: when cold smoking: what is be the easiest thing to start of with? Least likely to be messed up by me :lol:
life is too short to drink bad wine (anonymus)
ssorllih
Veteran
Veteran

Post by ssorllih » Fri Jul 19, 2013 15:16

You will need air flow. Therefore air in and air out or smoke in and smoke out. I think that you should consider the most affordable for cold smoking until you are comfortable with your method. I find that bacon is very tolerant of smoking conditions. I am presently drying some chilis and in the sun the temperature inside my smoker exceeds 50°C . That temperature would exclude cold smoking fish.
Ross- tightwad home cook
crustyo44
Veteran
Veteran

Post by crustyo44 » Fri Jul 19, 2013 20:51

Hi Sambal,
An old fridge would be great for cold smoking if you remove anything plastic from the inside.