UMAi dry aging bags

crustyo44
Veteran
Veteran

UMAi dry aging bags

Post by crustyo44 » Wed Nov 27, 2013 20:41

Hi,
Do we have members that actually used UMAi dry aging bags for beef.
Reports are great sofar, even for using them for aging/curing coppa, pancetta, bresaola etc etc. I am intrigued with what they claim can de done with them with great results.
Cheers,
Jan.
lrdeer
Beginner
Beginner

Post by lrdeer » Fri Nov 29, 2013 07:29

Jan,
I have been using these bags for nearly 6 months now, they are really amazing how they work.
I have attached a few photos of some Charcuterie that I have made. So far all have turned out perfect with no spoilage, maybe a little tweaking of the recipes to add a bit more flavour is all that is needed. I have added a few photos for all to view with a description of each.
1. Pork Cappicola (80 days) rubbed inside and out with 50/50 Chipotle powder and Paprika.
2. Venison Bresaola (31 days).
3. Tangello Lonzino finished with brushed on Cointreau prior to sealing in bag (35 days).
This is a very simple process, everything can be made all year round without fear of spoilage.
PhImageoto
crustyo44
Veteran
Veteran

Post by crustyo44 » Fri Nov 29, 2013 21:52

Hi,
What a beautiful array of charcuterie you made. Thanks for sharing.
Did you buy the UMAi bags locally? I thought Misty Gully sold them but they are no longer
mentioned in their products list.
Congratulations,
Jan.
lrdeer
Beginner
Beginner

Post by lrdeer » Fri Nov 29, 2013 23:15

Jan, I am not aware of any Aussie supplier, I bought mine direct from UMAI in the States.
el Ducko
Veteran
Veteran

Post by el Ducko » Sat Nov 30, 2013 00:10

WooHoo! I gotta try this. We're just back from a trip to Spain, and I'd love to do a ham in "jamón Ibérico" style. I'll never be able to duplicate it because the best ones are from acorn-fed hogs of a particular breed, but I'd love to see how close I can get. Looks like this UMAi bag technique might give me a shot at it.