Need advice making dry salami

montreal_1982

Need advice making dry salami

Post by montreal_1982 » Mon Jan 19, 2015 12:51

Hi guys! its my first time on this forum, i'm hoping someone can give me some advice on my hanging salamis.

The problem is clear in the picture, there are many air pockets. Just to clarify I used a sewing needle to pop the air pockets when I was stuffing the casings, and there were no air bubbles when they were first hung. They only started appearing after fermentation prob around 5-6 days.

Im wondering if this is normal, perhaps the meat is shrinking but the casing isnt ? I do not want the meat to rot what should I do ?

Cheers!!
Devo
Forum Enthusiast
Forum Enthusiast

Post by Devo » Mon Jan 19, 2015 13:25

First off welcome to the forum.

Now one question is what type of casings did you use?
If not using natural casings than you should have used Fibrous Protein-Lined Casings.
montreal_1982

Post by montreal_1982 » Mon Jan 19, 2015 13:30

Devo wrote:First off welcome to the forum.

Now one question is what type of casings did you use?
If not using natural casings than you should have used Fibrous Protein-Lined Casings.

Doh forgot to mention I used the fiberous casings.

Thanks for the welcome!
Devo
Forum Enthusiast
Forum Enthusiast

Post by Devo » Mon Jan 19, 2015 14:38

I really don't have a spot on answer for you there bud. If there excessive moisture content in your curing chamber, it may cause the casing to wrinkle and appear to "pull away" which yours is for sure doing. The other thing I am wondering is about your protein lined casings. They might be dried out because of old stock or poor packaging. Maybe just a cheap manufacturer?

Now the other things we need to consider is what culture did you use and what was the Ph after fermentation?