Re-freezing Meat question

Bubba
Passionate
Passionate

Re-freezing Meat question

Post by Bubba » Tue Sep 13, 2011 00:57

I would appreciate some guidance on a topic that I have no experience on:- Re-freezing meat.

If I buy meat, and at that time it has 2 days before the "use by date", vacuum pack and freeze it the day I buy it for about 1 or 2 weeks, then defrost to process to sausage, can the sausage be frozen?
Essentially I am then re-freezing the meat.

Would this be a safe practice? This would apply to Beef, Pork, Chicken and Turkey.
Ron
ssorllih
Veteran
Veteran

Post by ssorllih » Tue Sep 13, 2011 01:05

I have been doing it for years. Probably shortened my life to less than one hundred years.
Ross- tightwad home cook
Bubba
Passionate
Passionate

Post by Bubba » Tue Sep 13, 2011 01:53

ssorllih wrote:I have been doing it for years. Probably shortened my life to less than one hundred years.
Thank you Ross, only a hundred years life span then?

Oh well, I guess one can't eat the sausage from both ends, got to pay the penalty somewhere along the line. :mrgreen:
Ron
Chuckwagon
Veteran
Veteran

Post by Chuckwagon » Tue Sep 13, 2011 09:47

Shucks Bubba,
Ol' Ross was with General Sherman when they "mooned" the rebel soldiers and then marched on down to the sea to have a little dip in the Atlantic. :shock:
Yes, the meat is safe, although each time it freezes, the ice crystals will rupture more cells. The meat's texture will suffer a little and it will be slightly less flavorful - but safe. Quick freezing makes smaller ice crystals thus less damage.

Best Wishes,
Chuckwagon
If it looks like a duck, walks like a duck, and quacks like a duck, it probably needs more time on the grill! :D
Bubba
Passionate
Passionate

Post by Bubba » Tue Sep 13, 2011 17:47

Chuckwagon wrote:Ol' Ross was with General Sherman when they "mooned" the rebel soldiers
:shock: William Tecumseh Sherman (February 8, 1820 - February 14, 1891) :shock: