cure for salmon/fish

bmeyer50
Beginner
Beginner

cure for salmon/fish

Post by bmeyer50 » Wed Oct 01, 2014 20:46

I'm curious why people don't use the instacure more for fish?
Also, there seems to be so much variation on recipes and amounts of ingredients.
Since I'm new to doing this, I'm looking for a simple cure/brine and want to use the instacure since I'd rather not poison someone accidentally!
I'll be cold smoking, so any suggestions would be welcome.
Thanks in advance!
ssorllih
Veteran
Veteran

Post by ssorllih » Thu Oct 02, 2014 03:31

I always use some, same rate as for smoked sausage.
Ross- tightwad home cook
redzed

Post by redzed » Thu Oct 02, 2014 06:13

Hello bmeyer50 and welcome to the WD forum! And when it comes to curing and smoking fish you've come to the right place. Stanley Marianski who has recently released a book on the subject http://www.amazon.com/Curing-Smoking-Fi ... 983697396/, has posted valuable excerpts on this site. Check out these pages:
http://www.amazon.com/Curing-Smoking-Fi ... 983697396/
and all of the recipes here:
http://www.meatsandsausages.com/fish/recipes

There are so many fish smoking recipes out there that it's mind boggling. In fact the best are the ones that are simple and celebrate the taste of the fish rather than trying to mask it with strange concoctions, syrups and rubs.

I cold and hot smoke about 20 salmon a year and use a similar brine as Marianski's "typical brine", but I use less salt. I use 400g salt and 200g sugar per 4 litres. I also add garlic, lemon and sometimes fresh herbs from the garden. And about three years ago I started using Cure #1, as per Marianski, 2tbs to 4 litres. I give away a lot of my salmon and cold smoked salmon canapes are a standard appetizer at our house. I feel much better in increasing the safety factor by adding the nitrite. Remember that the brine works through the fish very quickly and is very different from meat.