Umai Soppressata and Chorizo

rgauthier20420
Frequent User
Frequent User

Umai Soppressata and Chorizo

Post by rgauthier20420 » Tue Dec 09, 2014 15:22

This is my first time using these bags for fermented and dried meats so I'll document it up to the finish line. Yesterday I ground about 9 lbs of pork shoulder through the largest plate in my grinder and mixed 4.4 lbs with the Soppressata spices and 4.8 are waiting for the Chorizo spices (I'll explain why).

So I'll admit I didn't research the use of the newest addition of zip ties to this system to well. I cut 6 lengths of casing the same size and sealed off one end to create the expected length of the casings. I had no idea what each length would actually hold, so I just made them even. Turns out I only got to use 4 of the 6 because of some issues. So I'll just say for anyone reading that the new system that doesn't use the VacMouse and only uses zip ties is much different.

So after I stuffed 4 logs worth, all you apparently all you have to do is twist it really tight and use the tie wrap to close the opposite end. This is the part where I goofed and I thought you'd need to vacuum, seal, and then tie wrap (wrong!). This is where I lost 2 of the pre-cut casings because had to put some meat back into the stuffer.

With that said, the process took MUCH longer and was MUCH more frustrating than I'd originally hoped. It took far to long so I don't think I could have mentally taken another round. However, now that I know how to do it, it should be very very simple.

The first picture is the day they were stuffed and hung and the 2nd is 36 hours in. I'll be pulling down, weighing, and popping them in the fridge tonight.

The Chorizo meat mixture was mixed with the spices and cure last night because I again didn't have time to stuff. I will be stuffing and hanging tonight though for sure.

Shuswap
Passionate
Passionate

Post by Shuswap » Tue Dec 09, 2014 16:09