T-SPX fermentation temp - briefly too high

mdtenor22

T-SPX fermentation temp - briefly too high

Post by mdtenor22 » Mon Mar 10, 2014 15:49

Hello all,

I'm relatively new to this rewarding hobby and have found you all to be a wealth of information. Thank you all for this amazing resource.

I'll get down to brass tacks: first use of a broken full-size fridge for a stand-alone curing chamber. In an interior room with consistent ambient air temp of 68F, the curing chamber was holding rock steady at 68F and ~95%RH (with an ultrasonic humidifier) without meat. I put in a batch of 8 61mm chubs (approx 20lbs of meat), all of which had been inoculated with T-SPX. The meat was obviously cool when I hung it, and temp dipped a little bit initially, which I expected. When I went to bed around midnight, the chamber was perfect, humidity wise, and right at 68F. I felt pretty darn good about my fermenting babies.

This morning when I woke up, the chamber temp had risen to 85F. At least I know the culture was active, right? I had no idea that the little beasties would put out enough heat to seriously affect the temp of the entire chamber. I immediately put ice packs in front of my circulation fan and cracked the door just a smidge. It is currently down to 71F and is maintaining ~94%RH. Everything smells great and slightly 'tangier' than last night. I guess I'll have to continue to add ice packs and monitor temp. A little worried about things while I'm at work!

1) Is the brief excursion into the 80s (no longer than 8 hours) of any safety concern? I know the temp is above the recommended range for T-SPX, but I couldn't find any threads that specifically addressed what happens when temp exceeds that range.